Holga Wide Angle Converter Review

 

Holga Wide Angle Lens

I shot a roll of lomo 100 X-pro in my holga to review that type of film and this new wide lens adapter. I ran out of my usual electrical tape that I use to keep my holga lightleak tight and in one piece. I picked up a new roll of regular black tape and obviously it did a very bad job, in fact it did such a horrible job I wonder if it sneaked in its photon buddies and let them go to town on my film resulting in horrendous orange light leaks all over my pictures.

I could make up a story that this was my artistic intention in order to portray the fragility of perfection and the honesty of failure but that would be a big bowl of shit. So lets get to the review.

Holga Wide 1

The top part is the regular Holga Lens and the bottom image is with the converter. I picked up this converter for $13 on Ebay because I was interested in buying the latest lomo camera: the sprocket rocket.

The main advantage the sprocket rocket has over shooting 35mm in a Holga is its wide angle lens and the ease of forwarding the film without having to deal with counting clicks. I was wondering if this converter would be wide enough to dissuade me from buying the sprocket rocket and stay loyal to my 5 year old Holga. After looking at the results I can honestly say “I don’t know”

Holga Wide 2

It does create a wider image, that is the positive. The bad side is that the normally blurry edges of my Holga images are now even more distorted and vague.

But it is hard to judge this lens just one roll of film which was badly abused by lightleaks. I will have to give this lens another chance before I pass my judgment upon it and then decide if I want to add the sprocket rocket to my collection of cameras.

Holga Wide 3

1 Comment

Filed under Camera Gear Overview

One response to “Holga Wide Angle Converter Review

  1. Sean

    Hey, I’ve been thinking about the same thing. I want sprocket hole images, but the holga is just so limited. I don’t want more distortion in the edges, so sprocket rocket might be the way to go. Nice pics by the way, 100iso film? did you use a flash or was it on B setting? Please get back to me and let me know. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

