Sharpness is overrated

blur blurry (3)

Every time someone tells me how sharp my photos are, I assume that it isn’t a very interesting photograph. If it was, they would have more to say. – Anonymous

When I use my film camera the EOS 500 with the nifty fifty I switch to manual focus. The autofocus doesn’t work well or at all on that camera so I have to work on my manual focus skills. And as you can see by the title of this article I am still not that great with it.

blur blurry (1)

What makes it even more challenging is that I always shoot wide open and at 1.8 you have a very narrow focus depth to deal with. Often I miss and the results aren’t always bad. If I had the perfect focus it often meant another snapshot, but having a blurry subject often leads to something surprising and new.

blur blurry (5)

Sharpness is a bourgeois concept. – Henri Cartier-Bresson

In the end by lacking perfection and having such an obvious flaw it makes these images interesting, challenging. We know the basic rules of photography and what makes an image “right” and by breaking such rules on purpose or by accident we create a reality that was there present at that moment that we may have not have seen, but cannot be denied.

blur blurry (2)

Rookies seeks sharper image.
Pro’s seeks to make money.
Artist seeks light. – Anonymous

blur blurry (4)

Leave a comment

Filed under Concepts

Leave a Reply

